Inspirational coaches shortlisted

Inspirational coaches shortlisted

Nine Canadian football coaches have been named as finalists for the 2012 NFL Youth Coach of the Year award.

The award, now in its 14thyear and run in conjunction with Football Canada, is designed to recognize community or high school level coaches across Canada who dedicate themselves to the development of young players both on and off the field.

The winner of the national grassroots program will receive $5,000 in new equipment for their football program. Runners-up will receive $2,000 in new equipment.

The following nine youth coaches (coaching organized teams of tackle football players aged 19 or under) are this year’s finalists:

Coach Team/Program/Community
Rob Hamm Ashbury College   Junior Football, Ottawa, ON
Dave Hocking London Minor   Football Association & John Paul II Catholic Secondary School, London, ON
Kelly Johnson Cold Lake High   School, Cold Lake, AB
Farhan Lalji New Westminster   Secondary School, New Westminster, BC
Nick Longval St. Thomas   Aquinas Catholic High School & Russell Minor Football Association,   Russell, ON
Steve MacPhee Prince Edward   Island Tackle Football League, Rollo Bay, PEI
Brian   McCorquodale Bishop Carroll   High School, Calgary AB
TrevorAllen-Monaghan James Bay Eagles   Community 6-a-side Football, Abitibi Témiscamingue, QC
Roby Sharpe Yorkton Regional   High School, Yorkton, SK

Six hundred and eighty seven submissions nominating more than 350 different coaches in nine provinces. Current and former players, volunteers, fans, parents, administrators, fellow coaches and even professional athletes submitted short essays recognizing the positive impact a coach in their community has on young players. Nominators were asked to consider how their coach teaches respect, leadership and appreciation for community and the game of football when drafting nominations. The award is not based on wins and losses.

This year’s shortlisted coaches include:

  • A lobster fisherman who is the backbone of football in Rollo Bay, Prince Edward Island (Steve MacPhee)
  • A 30-year community stalwart who has inspired generations of Calgarians, including nominator Mark Dewit of the CFL Calgary Stampeders (Brian McCorquodale)
  • A volunteer juggling coaching duties with three teams while running his ‘Cleats for Kids’ charity (Dave Hocking)
  • A driving force behind the growth of 6-a-side football amongst aboriginal youth (Trevor Allen-Monaghan)

Over the past 14 years the program has contributed more than $170,000 in equipment and facility upgrades to deserving programs, and put the spotlight on the grassroots-level coaches who are the engines that drive football in Canada.

“Together with Football Canada the National Football League is proud to recognize the efforts of the more than 350 coaches who were nominated this year, said DAN QUINN, Managing Director, NFL Canada. “These coaches inspire players, rally communities, and help ensure the future health of our sport in Canada. They are special individuals.”

The winning coach will be selected by a panel of journalists from across Canada. Winner and runnersup will be announced via press release and posted online ( on Tuesday November 13, 2012.

$5,000 of new football equipment will be donated to the winning coach’s program. Two runners-up schools will each receive $2,000 in equipment. The winning coach will also win a trip to Toronto as a guest of the NFL at this year’s Vanier Cup celebrations, and will be honoured at the CIS All-Canadian Banquet on  Wednesday, November 21, 2012, and attend the Vanier Cup, scheduled to be played on Friday, November 23, 2012 at 7:30 P.M.

Past winners:

  • 1999: Mike Tanner, Queen Elizabeth High      School, Halifax, NS
  • 2000: Mitch Chuvalo, Western Technical      Commercial High School, Toronto, ON
  • 2001: Paul Normandeau, Kelvin High School,      Winnipeg, MB
  • 2002: Gordon Judges, St. Mary Catholic      High School, Pickering, ON
  • 2003: Paul Kerber, Western Canada High      School, Calgary, AB
  • 2004: Kevin Campbell, Hammarskjold High      School, Thunder Bay, ON.
  • 2005: Jeff Yanchus, John F. Ross CVI,      Guelph, ON.
  • 2006: Dan Del Mastro, Michael Power      Catholic Secondary, Toronto, ON.
  • 2007: Jeff Green, Chatham-Kent Secondary,      Chatham, ON.
  • 2008: Quinn Skelton, Medicine Hat High      School, Medicine Hat, AB.
  • 2009: Bruce Waddell, Parkwest Outlaws, Shoal Lake, MB.
  • 2010: John      Svenson, Melville Comprehensive School, Melville, SK.
  • 2011: Rick      Gilson, Grande Prairie Composite High School, Grand Prairie, AB

Quinn Skelton

Rick Gilson

Gord Judges