Recognize a Canadian Coach

Recognize a Canadian Coach

The National Football league today launched its annual search for coaches who have positively impacted young Canadians.

The NFL Youth Coach of the Year award, now in its 15th year and presented by BlackRock Canada, is designed to recognize active community or high school level volunteer coaches across Canada who dedicate themselves to the development of young players both on and off the field.

“This award is not about wins and losses,” said Dan Quinn, Managing Director, NFL, Canada. It is about recognizing the positive impact volunteer coaches can have on young players and their communities. We encourage anyone who knows a selfless volunteer football coach to nominate them for recognition.”

Over the past 14 years the program has contributed more than $170,000 in equipment and facility upgrades to deserving programs. Any Canadian can nominate a coach for recognition.

“Coaches play such an important role in our communities,” added Noel Archard, Managing Director, Head of BlackRock Canada. “The investment they make in young people – motivating and providing expertise – helps ensure a brighter future for all of us. BlackRock is proud to help put the spotlight on these dedicated leaders.”

Nominations can be submitted at on or before Monday November 4, 2013.

A video message about the program and the importance of coaches in the community from NFL legend Jim Brown will also begin airing later this month

Nominators are asked to submit a short essay recognizing the positive impact the volunteer high school or community coach has on young players. Nominators are asked to consider how the coach teaches respect, safety, motivation, leadership and appreciation for the game of football when drafting their nominations.

The winning coach will be selected by a panel of journalists from across Canada, NFL, BlackRock Canada and Football Canada representatives. Shortlisted coaches will be announced via press release and posted online ( on Thursday November 7, 2013. Winner and runners-up will be announced via press release and posted online ( on Thursday November 14, 2013.

$5,000 of new football equipment will be donated to the winning coach’s program. BlackRock Canada will help cement the winning coach’s legacy, creating $5,000 in bursaries that will assist young football players in the coach’s community who are in financial need. Two runners-up schools will each receive $2,000 in equipment.

Past winners:

• 1999: Mike Tanner, Queen Elizabeth High School, Halifax, NS
• 2000: Mitch Chuvalo, Western Technical Commercial High School, Toronto, ON
• 2001: Paul Normandeau, Kelvin High School, Winnipeg, MB
• 2002: Gordon Judges, St. Mary Catholic High School, Pickering, ON
• 2003: Paul Kerber, Western Canada High School, Calgary, AB
• 2004: Kevin Campbell, Hammarskjold High School, Thunder Bay, ON.
• 2005: Jeff Yanchus, John F. Ross CVI, Guelph, ON.
• 2006: Dan Del Mastro, Michael Power Catholic Secondary, Toronto, ON.
• 2007: Jeff Green, Chatham-Kent Secondary, Chatham, ON.
• 2008: Quinn Skelton, Medicine Hat High School, Medicine Hat, AB.
• 2009: Bruce Waddell, Parkwest Outlaws, Shoal Lake, MB.
• 2010: John Svenson, Melville Comprehensive School, Melville, SK.
• 2011: Rick Gilson, Grand Prairie Composite High School, Grand Prairie, AB
• 2012: Dave Hocking, London Minor Football, London, ON

Jim Brown discusses the importance of coaching in Canada

Jim Brown discusses the importance of coaching in Canada

Past winners gallery: