Playing for Canada

Playing for Canada

Forty of Canada’s best young football players will be taking on Team USA in Texas.

The players, announced by Football Canada, will represent Canada at the 2014 International Bowl series, an Under-18 tackle football competition that will be played February 7-8 at Maverick Stadium at the University of Texas at Arlington.

The team is comprised of players born in the years 1996 and 1997 who participated in the 2013 Football Canada Cup, held July 15-21 in Moncton, New Brunswick.

Among the 40 players on Canada’s U18 squad, 25 earned automatic invitations to participate in the International Bowl after being named 2013 Canada Cup all-stars. An additional 14 Canada Cup standouts have also accepted invitations to take on Team USA.

Six Canadian provinces are represented on the roster. Thirteen of the players are from Quebec, 11 are from Ontario, seven are from Alberta, five are from Saskatchewan, two are from Nova Scotia and one player is from Manitoba.

Made up of high school, community and CEGEP players, the Football Canada Cup National Team is led by Quebec head coach Brad Collinson who will serve the same role in Arlington.

Under coach Collinson’s leadership, Quebec has won 3 consecutive Canada Cup titles, the last two as the team’s head coach. Collison is currently an assistant coach with the Laval Rouge et Or.

The NCAA recognizes USA Football’s International Bowl as a national team competition. Playing for the United States in the International Bowl is exempt from high school seniors’ two all-star game appearances.

USA Football and Football Canada are among the 64 national federations who are members of the International Federation of American Football (IFAF). IFAF’s member nations span six continental regions: Africa, Asia, Europe, North America, Oceania and South America. –

Complete roster:

QB Frédéric Paquette-Perrault Montréal (CEGEP Vieux-Montréal) QC
QB Liam Putt Caledonia (Hamilton Hurricanes) ON
RB Tyler Chow Calgary (Notre Dame) AB
RB Kayden Johnson Kerrobert (LCBI) SK
RB Marquis Richards Brampton (Bulldogs) ON
RB Raishaun Provo Pickering (Dolphins) ON
REC Tshitenge Tshitshi Bukasa Montréal (Hornets Sun Youth) QC
REC Ben Field Burlington (Stampeders) ON
REC Colton Hunchak Calgary (Notre Dame) AB
REC Khaliel James Windsor (Ravens) ON
REC Félix Laflamme Sainte-Thérèse QC
REC Yol Piok Regina (O’Neil) SK
REC Marc-Antoine Pivin Sherbrooke (CEGEP Champlain-Lennoxville) QC
OL Darius Ciraco Burlington (Stampeders) ON
OL Mark Korte Spruce Grove (Spruce Grove) AB
OL Justin Lawrence Spruce Grove (Spruce Grove) AB
OL Samuel Lefebvre Saint-Lambert de Lauzon (CEGEP Lévis-Lauzon) QC
OL Andrew Pickett Kitchener (Twin City Predators) ON
OL Brendon Philogène Laval QC
OL David Singer Regina (O’Neill) SK
LB Jacob Butler Sherwood Park (Salisbury) AB
LB Daniel Nesbitt Regina (LeBoldus) SK
LB Samuel Rossi Montréal (CEGEP Montmorency) QC
LB Gabriel Simons Regina (IMG Academy [FL]) SK
LB Micah Teitz Springbank (Springbank) AB
LB Trevelle Wisdom Toronto (Metro Wildcats) ON
DL Simon Aubin-Lavoie Montréal (St. Paul’s [NH]) QC
DL Trevaughan James Whitby (Pickering Dolphins) ON
DL Jeffrey Kocins St. Thomas ON
DL Shaun Robinson Halifax NS / N.-É.
DL Andrew Seinet-Spaulding Montréal (CEGEP Vieux-Montréal) QC
DL Joel Van Pelt Lethbridge (Winston Churchill) AB
DB Adam Auclair Notre-Dame-des-Pins (CEGEP Champlain-Lennoxville) QC
DB Zack Fitzgerald Pierrefonds (Faucons Dorval Jean XXIII) QC
DB Xavier Gilbert Sherbrooke (CEGEP Champlain-Lennoxville) QC
DB Payton Hall Carronport (Campbell) SK
DB Craig Hinschberger London (Jr. Mustangs) ON
DB Brock Letkeman La Broguerie (Eastman Raiders) MB
DB Nicholas-Rohan Plourde-Hector LaSalle (CEGEP Vanier) QC
K Greg Hutchins Bedford (Charles P. Allen) NS / N.-É.