Recognize a Coach

Recognize a Coach

The National Football league today launched its annual search for coaches who have positively impacted young Canadians.

(en francais au-dessous)

The NFL Youth Coach of the Year award, now in its 16th year and presented by BlackRock Asset Management Canada Limited (BlackRock Canada), is designed to recognize active community or high school level volunteer coaches across Canada who dedicate themselves to the development of young players both on and off the field.

Nominations can be submitted at until Monday November 17, 2014.

Over the past 15 years the program, which focuses on positive impact rather than wins and losses, has contributed more than $180,000 in equipment and facility upgrades to deserving programs. Any Canadian can nominate a coach for recognition.

BlackRock Canada, an industry-leading investment management and services provider, also uses the program to create bursaries that will assist young football players in the winning coaches communities who are in financial need.

“Good coaches build character and instill values that encourage the right behaviours for success, both on and off the field,” added Noel Archard, Managing Director, Head of BlackRock Canada. “BlackRock Canada is committed to helping Canadians reach their investing goals and understands how the commitment and dedication of these leaders inspire others to achieve success. We are proud to contribute again this year to the recognition and rewarding of the most dedicated of these individuals.”

Nominators are asked to submit a short essay recognizing the positive impact the volunteer high school or community coach has on young players. Nominators are asked to consider how the coach teaches respect, safety, motivation, leadership and appreciation for the game of football when drafting their nominations.

The winning coach will be selected by a panel of journalists from across Canada,NFL, BlackRock Canada andFootball Canadarepresentatives. Shortlisted coaches will be announced via press release and posted online ( on Thursday November 20, 2014. Winner and runners-up will be announced via press release and posted online ( on Tuesday December 2, 2014.

$5,000 of new football equipment will be donated to the winning coach’s program. Two runners-up schools will each receive $2,000 in equipment.

“Volunteer coaches are the backbone of amateur football in Canada, and their efforts deserve recognition,” said Derek Gross, Director, Corporate Partnerships, NFL Canada. “We encourage anyone who knows a selfless volunteer football coach to nominate them for recognition.”

Past winners:

• 1999: Mike Tanner, Queen Elizabeth High School, Halifax, NS
• 2000: Mitch Chuvalo, Western Technical Commercial High School, Toronto, ON
• 2001: Paul Normandeau, Kelvin High School, Winnipeg, MB
• 2002: Gordon Judges, St. Mary Catholic High School, Pickering, ON
• 2003: Paul Kerber, Western Canada High School, Calgary, AB
• 2004: Kevin Campbell, Hammarskjold High School, Thunder Bay, ON.
• 2005: Jeff Yanchus, John F. Ross CVI, Guelph, ON.
• 2006: Dan Del Mastro, Michael Power Catholic Secondary, Toronto, ON.
• 2007: Jeff Green, Chatham-Kent Secondary, Chatham, ON.
• 2008: Quinn Skelton, Medicine Hat High School, Medicine Hat, AB.
• 2009: Bruce Waddell, Parkwest Outlaws, Shoal Lake, MB.
• 2010: John Svenson, Melville Comprehensive School, Melville, SK.
• 2011: Rick Gilson, Grande Prairie Composite High School, Grand Prairie, AB
• 2012: Dave Hocking, London Minor Football, London, ON
• 2013: Quentin Tynes, Halifax Minor Football, Halifax, NS

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

La NFL et BlackRock Canada lancent leur recherche annuelle des entraîneurs de football bénévoles
les plus dévoués du Canada

Les gagnants de ce programme communautaire national recevront des milliers
de dollars en nouvel équipement pour leurs programmes de football
et des bourses de BlackRock Canada pour les jeunes joueurs

Toronto, ON – Le 21 octobre 2014 − La National Football League lance aujourd’hui sa recherche annuelle d’entraîneurs qui ont eu un impact positif sur les jeunes Canadiens.

Le Prix NFL de l’Entraîneur de l’année, qui en est à sa 16e année et qui est présenté par BlackRock Canada, un leader de l’industrie en matière de gestion de placements et de services-conseils, est conçu pour reconnaître les entraîneurs bénévoles actifs au niveau communautaire ou dans les écoles secondaires à travers le Canada qui se dévouent au développement des jeunes joueurs à la fois sur et à l’extérieur du terrain.

Au cours des 15 dernières années, le programme a donné plus de 180 000 $ en équipement et en améliorations d’installations aux programmes méritants. Chaque Canadien peut soumettre la candidature d’un entraîneur.

Les candidatures peuvent être soumises au jusqu’au 17 novembre 2014 inclusivement.

On demande aux personnes qui soumettent une candidature d’envoyer un court texte décrivant l’impact positif que l’entraîneur communautaire ou d’école secondaire a sur les jeunes joueurs. On leur demande aussi de prendre en considération comment l’entraîneur enseigne le respect, la sécurité, la motivation, le leadership et l’appréciation du sport qu’est le football lorsqu’ils soumettront sa candidature.

L’entraîneur gagnant sera sélectionné par un panel de journalistes de l’ensemble du Canada et de représentants de la NFL, de BlackRock Canada et de Football Canada. Les entraîneurs présélectionnés seront annoncés par l’entremise d’un communiqué de presse et leurs noms seront postés en ligne ( le 20 novembre 2014. Le gagnant et les finalistes seront annoncés par l’entremise d’un communiqué de presse et leurs noms seront postés en ligne ( le 2 decembre 2014.

5000 $ de nouvel équipement de football seront donnés au programme de l’entraîneur gagnant. BlackRock Canada aidera à consolider l’héritage de l’entraîneur gagnant avec 5000 $ en bourses qui aideront de jeunes joueurs de football de la communauté de l’entraîneur qui ont besoin d’aide financière. Deux écoles finalistes vont recevoir 2000 $ chacune en équipement.